Skip to content

My Time is Soooooo Valuable!

October 21, 2009

My fingertips are turning to stone, but my brain has been turning to mush.  I fear I’ve over extended myself.  I have school, and a new 3-piece group that I’m playing with.  Stuart Erb, Aaron Mueller and I are forming what I consider to be the first incarnation of the Stoop Van Patten Music Collective, known (probably) as The E Sharps.  We’re trying to cram together music for the Anomy House Halloween party in a week, and a more solid set for a show that I’ve scheduled at Public Space One.  More on that later.

The point? I’m making excuses for why I only have 4  songs written when I was planning on having at least 8 or 9 by now.  I refuse to abandon this project, as it’s solely responsible for my recent guitar improvement, but it is slow going.  In the mean time, enjoy a rough cut of my new song!  It’s called Tree Rings.  Some of the words will probably change, but I’ve spent way too long on this song, and it’s time to move on.

Tree Rings

I remember when this room was white
and you brought color swatches home most every night

I remember the paint escaped the can
and I remember the newspaper it spilled in

I remember how the frost formed on the glass
And we were huddled by the radiator fast asleep

And I remember you in every corner of this room

I remember vines around the round windows,
20 feet each year, you kept the winter growth

I remember the water pipes that froze
the growing piles of leaves and petals on the floor

I remember all the shattered words that day
we drew curtains to keep the howling cold at bay

And I remember you in every corner of this room

Tidbit of the Entry: Many months ago, a friend pointed me to Fionn Regan.  Obviously influenced by Bob Dylan and other folk dudes, his beautiful song Snowy Atlas Mountain is a perfect example of his work.

More posts sooner than later.  For real this time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

