Skip to content

Week 2’s Songs, Much Late!

October 9, 2009

My fingernails are worn, my hands feel like they’ve been smashed with hammers, and it’s becoming a chore to write and play guitar.  I knew this would happen, but it still sucks to have to power through something you should be enjoying.  Don’t worry though, I haven’t stopped playing way too much!  All last week I was practicing for my cousin’s wedding songs so I wasn’t able to make any posts, but I was able to start two new songs and finish another.  That and a new cover song I was fiddling with made the week relatively productive, even if I am a bit behind schedule.

I’ve decided not to post any covers on this blog, but I would like to point out that my youtube page will have a few covers up in the next week (Stand By Me and a little Peter Frampton for your listening pleasure…).  The page will have every video I post and already has some of the jamming and first recording I did with Josh!

I haven’t posted for more than a week, and that’s just terrible.  However, to make up for it I’ll be posting two new songs on this Entry! I’ll be posting a song from week one (A Curious Conversation in Cloverdale) and the finished one from this last week (Sorority).

I’ll be posting again very soon, I’ve got a couple of great little news bits to tell, but I didn’t want to clutter this post.


(Audio isn’t synced, don’t ask me why)
Sorority

They say that the apple don’t fall very far from the neighborhood where it was born
and the neighborhood where she was born was a cold blooded one
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you, kid.
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you.

She was doubting the look in his eyes when he tried to explain the faint smell of perfume
and you’d better know god damn well she knows who…
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you, kid.
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you.

They say that the weight of the world at your back is no excuse for the weight of a gun
but the weight in her hand kicked back a black spackle of smoke
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you, kid.
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you.

The roof of her mouth is holding tight to her tongue, her sweat collects inside the crease of her hand
and the creases of the hands of the man she loved ran red
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you, kid.
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you.

The gravel and guilt in her gut keep her warm for the very last thing she must do
You’d better run big sister will be here soon
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you
She’s coming home, she’s coming home for you

A Curious Conversation in Cloverdale

Can I take a picture of your dog?
Can I take a picture of your dog, she said.

I couldn’t think of anything to say.
I couldn’t think of anything to say, I said.

Why do you want a picture of my dog?
Why do you want a picture of my dog, I asked.

I guess because I think he’s really cute.
I think that little fucker’s really cute, she said.

Well, only if you ask me on a date.
Only if you ask me on a date, I tried.

Can I take a picture of your dog?
Can I take the god damned picture of your dog, she growled.

So I let her take a picture of my dog.
I let her take a picture of my dog.

I don’t even even own a fucking dog.
I don’t own a single furry dog.

Tidbit of the Entry
:  Someone got funk in my hip-hop!  Someone got hip-hop in my funk!  Lyrics Born has been melting my headphones and mind lately, and I’d like to share!  If you like Aesop Rock or Del, you’ll see the appeal here.  Welcome to the Lyrics Born variety show:

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jesse permalink
    October 12, 2009 1:48 am

    Your mom

Leave a Reply

