Skip to content

Song number II, my fingers hate you

September 26, 2009

Lately I’ve been playing a lot of guitar.  Between learning the songs for my cousin Charise’s wedding, beginning practice for a new three piece with Stuart and Aaron (Aafrastu as I like to call it), and this songwriting thing, I’ve literally played for at least 4 hours a day, sometimes a little bit more.

So when I say one song has been occupying half of my guitar playing, it means that a couple hours a day I would fiddle with this slippery eel.  I was beginning to worry that I sinking all this time into one song would grind this little project to a halt, but then last night I figured it out.  I have one other song written this week, but I’m going to post it later (I’ve got to post some youtube videos for wedding song approval!

Also, I was able to fix the choppiness, but apparently the only solution was to put a black box around the video.  Something’s amiss…    Anyway, without further ado:

These Days

Someone’s on the cordless phone
These days, Maggie’s on the phone a lot
She gets off the hook each time
These day, Maggie’s on the hook a lot

Waffle cones and whipping cream and a bottle of burgundy rum
Bitter baker’s chocolate and brown sugar on her tongue

And when I asked her simple questions
She always gave the same reply,
“On to the fire with you,
On to the fire with you.”

.

I’ve been on my feet for years
These day, the bottoms of my feet have turned to rock

Waffle cones and whipping cream and a bottle of burgundy rum
Bitter baker’s chocolate and brown sugar on her tongue

And when I asked her simple questions
She always gave the same reply,
“On to the fire with you,
On to the fire with you.”

Tidbit of the Entry: I stumbled onto Band of Horses several months ago.  They have a pretty cool sound, I like their drones. They have written one phenomenal song in The General Specific.  This is the youtube video I first saw (not the official video, I dunno if they have one)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 1:09 am

    I like your music a lot. Good luck to you on your album- you’ve got a lot of talent. I also really enjoyed the Band of Horses video you posted-what a great sound they have! And I’m not usually into “newer” music.

  2. Joshua permalink
    October 1, 2009 5:17 am

    Too many days. We require Frank-muziks.
    What is this about a three piece? More information, please.
    I have new stuff that needs a better lyricist’s attention. Your plate’s full, but if co-oping is allowed in this project, you’re welcome to take over.
    Get Skype, or if you’re already on Skype, send me a hello.
    Peace

  3. Joshua permalink
    October 1, 2009 6:30 am

    Also, is “On to the fire with you” a bit of Arabish? /ALI ALNAR M”K/, i.e, “Go to hell”?
    If so, clever. If no, funny coincidence.

Leave a Reply

