Skip to content

Drumroll Please…

September 22, 2009

I’ve done it!  Ok, technically I only finalized this song yesterday but I’m going to let it slide in under Week 1’s songs.  It’s much bluesier than I usually write, and it’s only two chords (Gm7 and C7) but I really like the “refrain.”  Also, I can’t help grooving just a little bit when I listen.

In any case, here’s the video of it (though for some reason ewe-tube makes my upload all choppy.  Until I fix it, the audio’s sufficient).  It takes me a solid minute to actually get a hold of the rhythm.  If I try to fully produce all these songs, it will triple my work load, so I’ll probably be posting a lot of stuff that isn’t practiced enough for a real performance.  Oh well, you guys can still hear what the song is.

And in all seriousness, please feel free to critique or comment.  The whole point of this is to get better and it’s really hard to self-critique.

42nd Avenue Jump

I need you to fill me up
I need you to pour one more
I don’t feel right, I can’t sleep and I can’t make it through this mess
Alone
Alone

I need you to f*ck me up
I need you to bring me down
I can’t see straight I can’t walk and I can’t make it to the bridge
Alone
Alone

I need you to cut me off
I need you to bring me home
I can’t see straight I can’t walk and I can’t make it to the 42nd Avenue bridge
Alone
Alone

Tidbit of the Entry: For those of you Iowa City folk who were mildly impressed by my paltry beginner’s airtap, prepare to be WAY more impressed by the legendary Joshua Owens.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 3, 2009 9:32 pm

    Ha! Aren’t you just a sweetheart? I didn’t notice the shout-out the first time I checked out this entry. Thanks for the promotion and the “legendary” title. Catch you soon.
    – Joshua

    P.S. – I’m currently home in Fourth Coast Cafe. The wedding was amazing. It’s a shame you couldn’t make it up, but I’ll see you by or before the adVanture. Peace.

Leave a Reply

